A Role/Reboot Twofer: On Clothes and Contraception

In my mad scramble to get through the busiest part of summer semester, it occurred to me that I never posted a piece I wrote last month on women’s clothing. This was an especially fun one to write, as it was very personal (and involved me quite literally cleaning out my closet). We’re told to not judge a book by its cover, but unfortunately, as I expressed in a prior piece on high school dress codes, the character of women is too often assumed by what she chooses to put on her body. In this piece, I talk about the power of agency in wardrobe choices because, yes, we really can dress ourselves.

Thanks, World, But I Can Dress Myself — June 19, 2014 on Role/Reboot

Last weekend, my seething cauldron of anger and disbelief re: the SCOTUS Hobby Lobby decision finally boiled over into this article, which was published on Role/Reboot last Monday. I firmly believe that when business deny women contraception on religious grounds, the heart of the matter is a disdain toward women who are sexually active. And I’ve noticed this reflected in the responses of women who cry out that they need birth control for endometriosis or ovarian cysts or some other curative reason. While all of these reasons are totally valid, it’s still not okay for us to treat birth control for contraceptive purposes as something superfluous or “lesser than.”

There Is No Immoral, Unnecessary, or Wrong Way To Use Birth Control — July 7, 2014 on Role/Reboot

Now! The reason I haven’t been updating this as much as I would like: I’m currently transitioning from this blog to my own website, which I feel will be a lot more user-friendly and easier on my end to maintain. There, you will be able to find all of my articles and fun extras like the HuffPostLive segment in one organized place. I will keep everyone posted as these changes occur!

Leave a Reply

