Enjoying the Silence (Without the Guilt)

Saying ‘no’ has never come easy to me.  I like to accommodate people and hate to let them down.  The result, often, is that I overschedule, and cramming too much into a single day leaves me more worn out and useless than if I had budgeted my time more carefully.  

The article I wrote for Role/Reboot today mentions my life as a teacher quite a bit.  I used my platform as a teacher to not only stress how demanding jobs with high amounts of social interaction can be (nurses, managers, moms!), but to hopefully generate an awareness of just how hard teachers work every day, night, and weekend.  While I love my active social life and my job, I realize that the need for a quiet moment alone is essential for facing obligations and challenges with a fresh and positive attitude.

Why You Need To Take Care Of Yourself And Not Feel Guilty About It — February 28, 2014 on Role/Reboot

Tonight, I think that there is a fizzy lavender-scented bath bomb with my name on it.  How do you prefer to unwind?

Leave a Reply

